Skip to content

What are the NCLEX categories?


NCLEX Nursing School

The NCLEX exam is a crucial milestone for aspiring nurses who want to pursue a career in the nursing profession. The NCLEX exam is a standardized test that assesses the competency, skills, and knowledge of individuals seeking to become registered nurses (RNs) or practical nurses (PNs) in the United States and Canada. In this article, we will explore the NCLEX categories and provide insights into why the exam is essential, who takes it, and what are the different categories tested.

nursing student looking at the camera and smiling

What is the NCLEX exam?

The NCLEX (National Council Licensure Examination) exam is a computer-based test that assesses the readiness of aspiring nurses to enter the nursing profession. The exam is administered by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN), and it consists of multiple-choice questions that evaluate the test taker’s critical thinking, problem-solving, and decision-making skills. The NCLEX exam aims to ensure that only qualified and competent individuals are granted licensure to practice nursing.

Why is it needed? And who takes it?

The NCLEX exam is necessary to ensure patient safety and promote high-quality nursing care. Nurses are responsible for providing care to patients in various healthcare settings, and they play a critical role in preventing medical errors, improving patient outcomes, and promoting health and wellness. The NCLEX exam ensures that only individuals who have the necessary knowledge, skills, and competencies are granted licensure to practice nursing. As a result, the public can be assured that the nurses caring for them are competent and capable of providing safe and effective care.

Aspiring nurses who have completed an accredited nursing program are required to take the NCLEX exam to obtain licensure as an RN or PN. The exam is a mandatory requirement for licensure in all 50 states in the US and the District of Columbia. Similarly, in Canada, the exam is required for licensure in all provinces and territories, except for Quebec.

What are the NCLEX categories?

The NCLEX exam is divided into two categories – the NCLEX-RN and the NCLEX-PN. The content and format of the exam are the same for both categories, but the questions are tailored to the scope of practice for each licensure category.

The NCLEX-RN is designed for individuals seeking licensure as a registered nurse, which requires a minimum of an associate degree in nursing (ADN) or a bachelor’s degree in nursing (BSN). The exam consists of four categories, namely:

  1. Safe and Effective Care Environment: This category tests the test taker’s knowledge of patient safety, infection control, management of care, and ethical and legal issues.
  2. Health Promotion and Maintenance: This category evaluates the test taker’s understanding of health promotion and disease prevention, including health assessment and education.
  3. Psychosocial Integrity: This category assesses the test taker’s ability to provide emotional and mental health care to patients, including coping mechanisms, behavioral interventions, and therapeutic communication.
  4. Physiological Integrity: This category tests the test taker’s understanding of the human body systems, including pharmacology, nutrition, and disease management.

The NCLEX-PN is designed for individuals seeking licensure as a practical nurse, which requires a diploma or certificate from a practical nursing program. The exam consists of four categories, which are the same as the NCLEX-RN categories, but with a focus on practical nursing care.

Preparing for the NCLEX exam can be overwhelming, but with proper guidance and support, individuals can achieve success in the exam. FVI School of Nursing & Technology helps aspiring nurses prepare for the exam with confidence. The program includes an in-depth content review, practice questions, and test-taking strategies that can help students improve their chances of passing the exam on the first try.

Students can benefit from experienced nursing faculty and a supportive learning environment that can help them achieve success in the exam. Attending FVI’s Associate of Nursing Degree Program will prepare you to pass the NCLEX. Last year, FVI achieved a 90.9% NCLEX pass rate. So, if you’re an aspiring nurse looking to pass the NCLEX exam, enroll in FVI’s Associate of Nursing Degree Program today and take the first step toward a rewarding career in nursing!

All nursing programs offered at FVI are approved by the Florida Board of Nursing Professional Nursing NCLEX Code Miramar US70415200 Professional Nursing NCLEX Code Miami US70418900 FVI School of Nursing and Technology (FVI) is licensed by the State of Florida, Commission for Independent Education (CIE) Miami (main) campus License Number: 3441/ Miramar campus License Number: 6010 The Associate of Science programs at FVI School of Nursing and Technology, Miramar, Florida and Miami, Florida are accredited by the Accredited Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN). FVI School of Nursing and Technology is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education (COE) ID# 312400 since November 03, 2010

Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing logo